skip to Main Content

Natural Living: Let’s Talk About Essential Oil QUALITY

Unfortunately, most essential oils on the market today, are of little value to your health. Some can even be toxic.
There are four recognized grades of essential oils:

#1 – “Synthetic” or “Adulterated”

  • created in a factory
  • lowest grade
  • cheapest (You get what you pay for.)

#2 – “Natural” and “Pure”

In this case, “Natural” and “Pure” probably doesn’t mean what you may think… they may be processed to point of having little or no beneficial compounds left.

  • most commonly sold
  • “natural” & “pure”… are just marketing hype

#3 – Certified “Therapeutic” Grade

  • Low heat distilled
  • or cold pressed
  • retains all beneficial compounds
  • may or may not have been sprayed with pesticides before being harvested
  • manufacturer self–certifies quality, rather than Independent third party

#4 – Certified “Organic”

  • Highest grade
  • retains beneficial properties
  • free of pesticides and chemicals
  • third-party certified for purity.

Points to remember:

Creating true quality essential oils starts with harvesting high quality plants, grown in organic soil in their natural environment, and harvested when their beneficial compounds are at peak.

They should be extracted using low-heat steam distillation, cold pressed, or CO2 extraction (none of which uses chemicals).

Essential oils should be bottled in dark glass containers which protects them from losing their potency.

When purchasing… CAREFULLY read the labelling!

Look for:

  • Latin name
  • country of origin
  • growing method
  • extraction process

These details should be listed clearly on the bottle. If it’s not, DON’T buy it!

Stay safe… stay healthy!

Back To Top